TWD – week 3 – Rugelach

Suuuuper late post.  These were very frustrating for me in that 1- They were expensive to make, 2- They completely fell apart in the oven, and 3- I didn’t even like them.  At first I didn’t care at all what a mess they were because I had read everyone’s posts saying it didn’t matter because they tasted wonderful.  But.. maybe I chose the wrong mix-in combination because I didn’t love them… or even really like them.  They tasted off.  A little bitter.

My Dad really liked them though.  So there’s that.  I’m not feeling in the chattiest of moods tonight, so here is the rest in photos.

I used California dried apricots, golden raisins, and bittersweet chocolate… and toasted walnuts, pecans, and almonds.  It sounded good to me.

They seemed so promising before they went in the oven.

:/

The one single cookie that didn’t explode.

I definitely won’t make these again.  However, I love rugelach and will go back to my old, much simpler, recipe by Martha.  I feel like this was an extra negative post.  I’m sorry, I’m just not in the best mood tonight.  I’ll end on a positive yet random note by mentioning that I had an excellent yoga class tonight; my teacher did a Spring Equinox/detox theme with lots of heating up our cores, twisting, lion breath, etc.  Good one.

Leave a Reply

